Comic Con: Documentary or Mockumentary?

Comic Con: Documentary or Mockumentary?

This week filmmaker Morgan Spurlock released a trailer for his latest documentary “Comic-Con Episode IV: A Fan’s Hope”. This latest effort however, is a collaboration with Joss Whedon, creator of “Buffy: The Vampire Slayer” and writer for the upcoming “Avengers” film and of course Stan “the Man” Lee himself whom you may have heard of before.

When I first heard or rather read about this…which was about twenty minutes ago, I couldn’t help but wince. Yes, I winced. You may recall Morgan’s previous works such as “Super Size Me”, you know the one where he had McDonald’s for 6 months and shockingly got fat. Or how about the one where he goes looking for Osama Bin Laden, you know, the one called “Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden?”.

I don’t mean to make fun of his work. He obviously has important things to say about our health and eating habits in our country and other important issues. My question is, where the hell does the San Diego Comic Con fit between American obesity and Osama Bin Laden?? Don’t get me wrong, I love comics and the cons as much as the next nerd, but why the focus here? Are comic books and all things nerdy really reaching the level of notoriety? Or rather becoming mainstream enough so that it can fill the seats in the theaters to watch such a “documentary”? It just feels more like a really long episode of Kevin Smith’s “Comic Book Men” to me. I guess the big question I’m asking here is: What is it about? And don’t say the “Comic-Con” because it’s too obvious.

I’m not saying it has to be hard hitting journalism for it to be considered a documentary or that comics aren’t worthy of the attention that a documentary brings but this just feels gimmicky. What does this say about our society? Is it about consumerism? Or will it continue to make fun and exploit your average comic reader, only reinforcing negative stereotypes? I guess I’ll just have to wait and see the film myself.

Judge for yourself and check out the trailer here:

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

