Was Alex Ross The Inspiration Behind The Cover to The Boys #72?

We know Darick Robertson is not above doing the occasional dark homage for certain covers of The Boys. Now when I look at the newly released cover for what will be the last issue…

null

I see similarities to an old, obscure cover to The Comics Journal #223 by Alex Ross.

null

Maybe issue #72 is an homage to be above Ross piece. If Frank Quitely and Frank Miller are fair game, then so is Ross.

Am I on to something, or am I totally off base with this one? Let me know.

–Chad Parenteau

About Chad Parenteau

I'm a poet. I run the Stone Soup Poetry series in Cambridge that runs every Monday night. I review comics in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

