Some of My Favorite Titles from 2011

I hesitate to call this a “Best of,” since being a small-time reviewer, I only review what I’ve been able to afford. Not comprehensive at all, but it is what I liked.

Batman

null

I’ve written about this book before,
but given how much I’ve given the New 52 a hard time, I want to at least give credit to the title that will be last on my list to drop.

The Boys

null

I liked it when one reviewer said the title frustrated him and that he was only staying on because he wanted to know what happened to Hughie and Annie. It’s sad when people read event books for so long, they don’t recognize when an actual story is taking place. This one is heading to it’s conclusion very soon. It’s suffered due to the loss of Darrick Robertson, but at least we have…

The Boys: Butcher Baker Candlestick Maker

null

It was great to see Robertson drawing Butcher and read a book where the best parts were the wholly human elements. I just wish it was still going. The ending disappointed some, but I think that Ennis and Robertson’s Butcher is a character that eventually disappoints everyone he encounters. He’ll never do good enough a job that he has to stop hurting people. He holds back information, so he’ll fail as a teacher and a leader. Now we have the prologue as to why. So I’m making excuses. I also think I’m right.

Butcher Baker: The Righteous Maker

null

How are there two comics “Butcher” and “Baker” in the titles out in the same year (or the same decade), and how is one them the American answer to Marshall Law? If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you still need to read this title. I won’t reveal anything except this: Casting Jay Leno as a secret mastermind alongside Dick Cheney is genius.

Mineshaft

null

It’s a zine, and the most recent issue features fewer comics this time around. Still, the appearances of underground artists from R. Crumb to newcomers like Ed Piskor and more make me yearn for the days when alternative publications were actually good and not just overrated band listings.

Orc Stain

null

Only one issue out this year, and it deserves to be on everyone’s “Best of” lists. When issue #7 is released, I think my review post is going to just be transcribed screaming.

About Chad Parenteau

I'm a poet. I run the Stone Soup Poetry series in Cambridge that runs every Monday night. I review comics in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

