Powers: “We’re Back!” Paul: “I’m sorry, who are you?”

According to Brian Michael Bendis’s Facebook page, “The Official Actual Real Brian Michael Bendis”, Bendis…I think that’s his name, revealed that the super hero detective series “Powers” has returned.

The problem is I don’t remember what the hell happened in the last issue, and I don’t exactly feel like digging through my pile of comics to read it.

Didn’t BBB or rather ICON promise that there wouldn’t be any more delays?

I can’t complain because in all honesty, I really do love the series. Its always on my “top 5” even if I haven’t read it in a year. That’s sort of my problem, its so good and it sucks I have to wait so long to see what happens next, to the point where I can’t remember what happened in the previous issue. I don’t want this to be one of those things were I only read them in trade you know?

And I understand Mr. Bendis is busy writer, what with Moon Knight, Avengers, and Scarlett! But come on, show some love to the fans who have been reading the series for the past 12 years!

Writer Bendis and Michael Avon Oeming…(I guess you have to have three names to be involved in this comic…lucky me!) started the series with Image Comics from 2000-2004. It then switched gears to Marvel’s Icon imprint.

The series focuses on homicide detective Christian Walker and Deena Pilgrim who investigate the murders of people with “powers”.

The comic is brilliant. It was the first series I remember reading that didn’t focus on the “powers” but the people around them and how every day people are effected by them. Think of this as the cousin to “The Boys”.

With out a doubt, I’ll be standing in Comicopia by the new comics section while I read this thing cover to cover, buy it, then do it again when I get home and pray to Odin that I won’t wait another year until I see the next issue!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

