We Got Reviews: Inky Stories #1

null

Part of the problem of this internet era of comics reviews is that with a lot of mini comics I set to write about, I feel less like I’m reviewing the mini and more like I’m reviewing the website the comics were taken from. This mini from David Marshall represents the best of that example.

Take for example the best reason to recommend this mini: The one full story entitled “Bottle of Red.”

null

This is a fun story which, from the, old style signature, to the story’s setting behind the scenes of the first Godfather movie, including this strip in this mini is a great introduction to his work.

To bad it’s already on his website, which I’ll also promote.

David Marshall’s a longtime layer in the comics world. His work has shown up in high profile horror anthologies like Taboo and prominently in local circles like the Inbound anthologies. Hopefully, more than a few of you will click the website and learn more about his work and the classes on comics I’m always hearing about from past students of his. There’s also a class he’ll be teaching up in Somerville, which I might be sitting in on.

See what I mean? Well, at least you know right away his work is good.

–Chad Parenteau

About Chad Parenteau

I'm a poet. I run the Stone Soup Poetry series in Cambridge that runs every Monday night. I review comics in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

